top of page

Where are you from?


“No, but where are you from originally” I don’t mind if you ask “Where are you from?” But I’m offended when you follow it up Because my answer is always Oakland And that should be enough

I don’t have a country I have a city Oakland Smokin’ You feel me?

I’m not lost I’m not confused I know what you mean And I know your view

I’m too brown to to be “American” My hair is curly, can’t be “American” Hablo Español, can’t be “American” Sanchez is not “American” Born in the USA but I’m not “American”

They make us hyphen it up I’m not talking about the hyphy movement Like my last name But that’s done out of pride

But Teddy hated when they did it He said there was no room for them And yet they still make us do it Because they want us to know

I know what you mean And I know your view I’m not American But neither are you.

I wrote this because I was tired of people asking me “Where are you from originally?” I was born and raised in Oakland, Ca. And yes, I’m Latina and proud. My home is Oakland ❤

Originally published on Medium.com

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page